Florida marine officers say they’ll increase enforcement of a new law requiring young power boaters to have proof of completing a boating safety course before heading out on the water. They are also required to carry a photo ID. The law took effect Jan. 1, and officers have given warnings over the past few months but say they’ll start issuing fines that range from $50 to $80.
The measure requires Florida boaters born on or after Jan. 1, 1988, to pass a state-approved boating education course to pilot a vessel with an engine of 10 horsepower or greater.
The law also extends to out-of-state boaters who wish to boat in Florida. They too, will have to prove they took a similar course in their home state.
Exceptions include boaters with U.S. Coast Guard master licenses, boaters on private lakes and ponds, and those piloting a new boat purchased in the past 90 days.